This month we have five copies of Social Mobility for the 21st Century: Everyone a Winner? by Steph Lawler and Geoff Payne ready to give away.

Social Mobility for the 21st Century addresses experiences of social mobility, and the detailed processes through which entrenched, intergenerationally transmitted privilege is reproduced. Contributions include (but are not limited to) family relationships, students’ encounters with higher education, narratives of work careers, and ‘mobility identities’. The book intends to challenge both the framework of the more traditional approach, and the politicisation of mobility which casts ‘mobility’ as a possession, a commodity or a character trait, and threatens to castigate the ‘non-mobile’ as carrying a personal responsibility for their situation.

This book presents critical analyses of routes into social mobility, the experience of social mobility, and the political and social implications of social mobility’s ‘panacea’ status. Drawing on the work of established scholars and more recent entrants, the chapters offer a fresh look at social mobility, opening up the topic to a wider readership among the profession and beyond, and stimulating further debate. This book will appeal to higher level students and scholars of sociology alike, as well as having a broad cross-disciplinary appeal.

If you are interested in receiving one of these free copies, please email BSA Membership by Friday, 13 September 2019 with your name and postal address and we will pick five winners at random. Please note that you must be a BSA member to enter this book draw. If you aren’t a member and would like to find out how to become one and see what other benefits are available to you, please visit the Membership section on the BSA website.

Thank you to everyone that entered our last book giveaway for Money: Myths, Truths and Alternatives by Mary Mellor. We had a great amount of interest in the book and are pleased to announce that the five winners were James Woods, Louise Isham, Rampaul Chamba, Adefemi Adekunle and Tim May and they have all been notified. Congratulations to you all.