This year, to mark the 70th anniversary of the Association which we were unable to celebrate in style in 2021 due to the pandemic, the trustees agreed to award several Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards were intended to recognise the extraordinary contribution of a number of well-known figures central to the history of the development of Sociology in Britain.

The recipients of the awards are:

  • Margaret Archer
  • Les Back
  • Avtah Brah
  • Anthony Giddens
  • Lynn Jamieson
  • Ann Phoenix
  • John Scott
  • Beverley Skeggs
  • Laurie Taylor

Our hearty thanks and congratulations go to all!